The participating courts of the Authority are the Supreme Court, District Court, Magistrates Court, Youth Court, Coroner’s Court and the Environment, Resources and Development Court. There are also a number of tribunals and commissions.

Civil and criminal matters are heard in the Supreme, District and Magistrates Courts, with the more serious matters being heard in the Supreme and District courts. Only the Supreme Court can hear cases involving murder and treason.

The Youth Court hears cases concerning children (up to the age of 18 years).

The Coroner’s Court investigates the circumstances surrounding deaths and disappearances.

The Environment, Resources and Development Court, as its name suggests, hears cases about developments, pollution, planning and land use.